December 21, 2018

PhD studentship 65% open in Project 5

October 24, 2018
Claus Cursiefen

Four Million Euros for Better Vision for Longer

DFG Research Unit FOR 2240 begins its second round Good vision is only possible when the anterior part of the eye is transparent. However, when inflammatory reactions in the eye occur, these lead to loss of transparency and sometimes even […]
August 1, 2018

Prof. Langmann wins the Dr. Gaide AMD prize

On 23 June 2018, Univ.-Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Thomas Langmann was awarded the Dr. Gaide AMD prize at the annual meeting of the Retina Society in Bonn. Prof. Langmann is the Chair of Experimental Immunology of the Eye in the […]
May 18, 2018
Claus Cursiefen

Prof. Cursiefen new ARVO Fellow and incoming DOG President

Shortly before its April 2018 annual meeting in Honolulu, Hawaii, the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO) appointed Prof. Claus Cursiefen as a Fellow. Prof. Cursiefen is the Chair of the Department of Ophthalmology at the University Hospital […]
May 18, 2018

Science Slam Victory for Young Cologne Eye Researcher

The 19th Science Slam took place in Bonn at the Pantheon in April 2018, and Ann-Charlott Schneider was declared the winner. Wearing the prize of golden boxing gloves, she exited the fray, leaving behind four competitors in the last round. […]
May 2, 2018

Japanese uveitis expert looking to innovate

On March 9th, 2018, the DFG Research Unit FOR 2240 hosted Visiting Professor Kazuichi Maruyama. Prof. Maruyama is Associate Professor at the Department of Innovative Visual Science at the Osaka University Medical School in Japan. In addition to his Osaka […]
March 1, 2018

Prof. Cursiefen now a member of Leopoldina

Prof. Claus Cursiefen, Chair of the Department of Ophthalmology at the University Hospital of Cologne, is now an officially voted-in member of Leopoldina, the German National Academy of Sciences. The internationally renowned eye specialist will now represent the field of […]
March 1, 2018

A first for ophthalmology: FOR 2240 team wins Erwin Niehaus Prize

On November 6th, 2017, the prestigious Erwin Niehaus Prize was awarded to the Department of Ophthalmology (Cologne) in the Industry Club in neighboring Duesseldorf, and it was the first time this prize was awarded to ophthalmologists. Prof. Claus Cursiefen, who […]
January 22, 2018

Work on polysialic acid therapy for AMD wins Prof. Thomas Langmann the Theodor Axenfeld Prize